Page images
PDF
EPUB
[graphic][ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors]

ENGLISH HIGH SCHOOLHOUSE, PINCKNEY STREET.

A. D. 1824 - 1844.

raised to $ 3,000, to procure for its use a philosophical apparatus.

It was first opened in the Derne Street School-house, which was located on the present site of the Beacon Hill Reservoir, a part of the building being occupied by a Grammar School. On account of the rapid increase of numbers in this school, it was determined to appropriate to its use the whole of this edifice, and accordingly a building for the Grammar School was erected on Pinckney Street, and named the - Bowdoin School House, But before this new house was occupied, the arrangement was changed, and the name of “ Bowdoin" was transferred to the Derne Street schoolhouse, from which the English High School was removed to the house in Pinckney Street, which was dedicated on the second day of November, 1824. This building cost about $25,000, and it continued to be occupied by this school till 1844, when the new edifice in Bedford Street was completed. Since the removal of the High School, it has been occupied by the Phillips Grammar School, for which a much larger house is now building, and it will soon be remodelled for the accommodation of Primary schools.

The accompanying cut presents an accurate view of its present appearance. Respectfully submitted, for Committee,

S. K. LOTHROP, Chairman.
Boston, September, 1861.

GIRLS' HIGH AND NORMAL SCHOOL.

THE Committee of the Girls' High and Normal School respectfully report that the school has been frequently and carefully examined by them during the

last year.

In the last annual Report, a request was made for a new school-house to accommodate the largely increased number of scholars. In accordance with the suggestion of your Committee, the City Government have purchased the estate of the Boston Society of Natural History, adjoining that of the school-house in Mason Street, for the use of the school. The building, formerly occupied by the Society's cabinet, has been thoroughly re-arranged, and connected with the old school-house, and the rooms thus added are now in use by the scholars. They have proved to be well adapted for the purposes of the school, and they will afford, it is believed, all the accommodation that will be needed for a series of years.

By the liberality of members of the Society, and of other individuals, a collection of specimens of minerals and other objects of natural history has been presented to the school, which will be of much interest and value to the scholars. Some of the cases, left by the Society, have been prepared for the reception of this collection. In order to complete it, and to provide for some necessary expenses in arranging it, a small appropriation is asked for, not exceeding the amount of three hundred dollars, and your Committee recommend the passage of an order for that purpose.

The number of applicants for admission to the school at the examinations in July and September was one hundred and and seventy-eight.

Of these, one hundred and fifty-three were admitted. This is the largest class yet admitted to the school. It will be seen by the tables appended to this report that the admissions for the last three years largely exceed those of previous years. The whole number of pupils who have been connected with the school since its establishment in 1852, including the class which has just entered, is one thousand and sixty-one.

The number of teachers appointed from those who have been members of this school, for the year ending September 1, 1861, is sixty-two. Of these, forty-nine were for the Grammar and Primary Schools. Tables are appended to this report showing the number of appointments from this school, of teachers for each of the school districts, and for each year since its establishment. It should be observed however that these numbers include some cases of transfer or of promotion to schools of a higher grade, which may be considered as equivalent to new appointments. The whole number of appointments is three hundred, while the number of members or graduates of the school who have been appointed teachers, so far as can now be ascertained, is two hundred and thirty-eight.

The increase in the number of appointments from this school is a sufficient evidence that its merits, as a school for teachers, are appreciated by the District Committees. Your Committee have inspected the records of various examinations of candidates for teachers made by the District Committees during the last year, and have found the names of those from this school always among the highest on the list. The thorough preparation of this school fits them not only to pass an examination with credit, but also, when appointed, to teach with ability and success.

The number of pupils now belonging to the school is three hundred and eight.

For the Committee,
LE BARON RUSSELL,

Chairman. September 10, 1861.

[ocr errors]
« PreviousContinue »