« PreviousContinue »
diameter. It was built in 1894, and is maintained by the Park Department. It is in good condition. g
Broadway Bridge (over Fort Point Channel).
The draw and its foundation were rebuilt in 1874–75, and the woodwork on the draw was renewed in 1896. A temporary foot-bridge was built in 1891 outside the lines of the street, but utilizing the old draw-span, to serve for foot travel during the construction of the new bridge. (See page 86.)
Broadway Bridge (over Boston & Albany R.R.).
The old bridge, built in 1880–1, was replaced in 1900 by the present bridge. The ironwork above the floor has been painted during the year.
Brookline-avenue Bridge (over Boston & Albany R.R.).
This is an iron bridge, built in 1884. The under-planking is in poor condition and the ironwork below the floor is badly rusted. The bridge should have the woodwork renewed and the ironwork painted.
Brookline-avenue Bridge (over Muddy River, in the Riverway).
This is a semi-circular masonry arch of 15 feet span. It was built in 1892 by the Park Departments of Boston and Brookline, and is maintained by them jointly.
Brooks-street Bridge (over Brooks Street, Brighton).
Byron-street Bridge (over Boston, Revere Beach & zo Lynn R.R.). This is a wooden bridge, built in 1889. The bridge is in poor condition. The bulkheads should be repaired. The deck planking, curb sticks and sidewalk planking need renewal, and the irons rods need painting.
Cambridge-street Bridge (from Brighton to Cambridge).
This is a wooden pile bridge with a wooden leaf draw. It was rebuilt in 1884; the draw was rebuilt in 1891. The bridge is in the care of the Commissioners for the Boston and Cambridge bridges, and the city pays one-half the cost of
maintenance; the Boston side of the bridge is in poor condition. A few deck planks on the main bridge and draw have been renewed and the roadway sheathed, and the bridge has been painted ; the planking on the piers and waterway is in poor condition; the fender-guard on the Cambridge side neads repairing; the deck planking on the Boston side has been repaired in spots many times, and should be entirely renewed and additional stringers added; the deck planking on the draw also needs renewal; the sidewalk planking needs repairs; one draw arm on the Cambridge side should be renewed; both abutments need repairing; new irons are needed on the waterway, and a boat should be provided.
Cambridge-street Bridge (over Boston & Maine and Boston & Albany Railroads, Charlestown).
This is a steel bridge of four spans, built in 1901 by the Boston & Maine Railroad. The surface is maintained by the city, the remainder by the railroad company. The bridge should be painted; otherwise it is in good condition.
Canal or Craigie's Bridge.
This is a wooden pile bridge, with a wooden turn-table draw. The city pays one-half the cost of maintenance. The bridge was originally built in 1808, was rebuilt in 1852, and was again rebuilt and widened in 1874. The bridge is in the care of the Commissioners for the Boston and Cambridge bridges. On the Cambridge end the down-stream sidewalk was repaired, and on the Boston end a new sidewalk was rebuilt on the down-stream side, and the fender-guard on the Cambridge side of the channel, up-stream side of the bridge, was rebuilt for a short distance, and part of the bridge was repaired; a few deck planks on the draw have been renewed, and the remainder are in poor condition. The sidewalks, sidewalk bulkheads, roadway planking near the curbs, and fencing that have not recently been rebuilt are poor, and need rebuilding; additional stringers are needed near the draw, and some pile work is needed near the ends of the bridge; some of the spur-shores need refitting; the draw, track circle, and wharf need extensive repairs, and the bridge should be painted.
Castle Island Foot-bridge (from Marine Park to Castle Island).
This is a temporary foot-bridge built in 1892, and is maintained by the Park Department. It connects the Marine park with Castle Island, and is furnished with a draw, so that if desired by the United States authorities the island can be cut off from the mainland. A small amount of replanking has been done. Repairs are needed on the fence and planking, and the bridge should be painted; otherwise the bridge is in fair condition.
Central-avenue Bridge (over Neponset River, Dorchester
This is an iron bridge, and was built in 1876. The city maintains the part within its limits. The woodwork of the roadway is in poor condition; the bridge should be stripped, the upper part of the floor-beams should be cleaned and painted, and the woodwork renewed.
Charlesgate Bridge (in the Fens, over Boston & Albany R.R.).
This is an iron bridge, built in 1881–82, and is maintained by the Park Department. The sidewalk planking is poor and should be renewed during the year; otherwise the bridge is in good condition.
Charlesgate Bridge (in the Fens, over Ipswich Street).
This is a deck-plate girder bridge with a buckle-plate floor. The roadway is paved with asphalt and the sidewalks with artificial stone. It is in a good condition.
Charlestown Bridge (from Boston to Charlestown).
This bridge was opened to public travel November 27, 1899, and superseded the old Charles River bridge, which was built in 1785–86. •
The present bridge over the river consists of ten spans of the deck-plate type, each 85 feet long, and a swing or turntable draw 240 feet 6 inches long.
The bridges over Water street and over the railroad tracks each consist of two span steel I-beams, with brick arches turned between the beams. The entire structure is in good condition.
Chelsea Bridge (over Boston & Maine R.R.).
This is an iron bridge, built by the Boston & Maine Railroad Company in 1894, and is over the railroad location. The surface of the bridge is maintained by the city; the remainder by the railroad company. About two hundred feet of fencing has been rebuilt eight feet high. The wheelguard is too low and narrow, the fences need repairing, and the bridge needs painting; otherwise the bridge is in good condition.
Chelsea Bridge, North (over North Channel, Mystic River).
The city maintains the part within its limits. The original structure was built in 1802–3. The piles under the main bridge were driven in 1880. The upper part of the bridge, the draw and draw foundations were built in 1895. The draw-way was widened to 60 feet in 1900, the draw foundation being enlarged, the draw lengthened, and the draw piers built. The fence has been painted and ordinary repairs have been made; the tops of some of the old piles have begun to decay; the old fender-guards are in poor condition; some of the sidewalk planking needs renewal, and many palings on the fence need straightening; otherwise the bridge is in good condition.
Chelsea Bridge, South (over South Channel, Mystie River).
This is a pile bridge with an iron draw. The original bridge was built in 1802–3. The piles of the present bridge were driven and the draw was built in 1877. That part of the bridge above the girder caps was rebuilt at a higher grade, and the draw was raised in 1895. Ordinary repairs have been made. The fender-guards are in poor condition; the top of the pier should be rebuilt; the waterway should be repaired; the woodwork on the sidewalks should be renewed; two iron brackets on the draw should be repaired, and several pieces of track should be renewed.
Chelsea-street Bridge (from East Boston to Chelsea).
This is a wooden pile bridge, with an iron swing draw ; the original bridge was built in 1834; was rebuilt in 1848, 1873, and again in 1894–95. A new wheel for operating the adjusting screw should be provided, and the draw should be painted. The bridge is in good condition.
Circuit-drive Bridge (over Scarboro’ Pond, in Franklin
feet 3 inches rise. It was built in 1893, and is maintained by the Park Department.
Columbia Road Bridge (over Old Colony Division, New York, New Haven & Hartford R.R.).
(See page 78.)
(Columbia Road Bridge (over Shoreham street). (See page 78.)
Columbus-avenue Bridges (over Boston & Albany R. R. and Providence Division, New York, New Haven & Hartford R.R.).
The bridge over the Boston & Albany Railroad was built in 1876–77, and is maintained by the city. In 1899 the bridge was shortened 11 feet at its south end, and a pier built in place of the old south abutment.
During the year the bottom flanges of the floor beams over the main tracks were strengthened by the addition of new angles wherever the section had been materially reduced by corrosion.
The bridge over the tracks of the N. Y., N. H. & H. R.R. was built in 1899, and is maintained by that company.
Commercial Point or Tenean Bridge (Dorchester).
This is a wooden pile bridge with a wooden leaf draw. The piles were driven in 1875. The draw and upper part of the bridge was rebuilt in 1901.
The bridge is in good condition.
Commonwealth-avenue Bridge (in the Fens).
This is an iron bridge, and was built in 1881–82. It is in good condition with the exception of the sidewalk planking which should be renewed.
Congress-street Bridge (over Fort Point Channel).
This is a wooden pile bridge with an iron turn-table draw on a stone foundation, and was built in 1874–75.
About 80 feet of sidewalk and fencing and the up-stream wing of the waterway have been rebuilt, and miscellaneous repairs made. The roadway planking, the stone paving, fender-guards, track circle, and one draw landing are in poor condition. The Secretary of War has ordered the draw-way to be widened from its present width of 43 feet 9 inches to 50 feet by December 31, 1903. When this work is undertaken the bridge should be rebuilt.