« PreviousContinue »
REv. JoHN DAVENPORT. At the death of Rev. John Wilson, which occurred August 7, 1667, aged seventy-nine years, the vacancy was filled by the choice of Rev. John Davenport, then seventy years old. He died March 11, 1670, and was buried in the Oliver, or tomb of the First Church, in King's Chapel Ground.
REv. JoHN OxENBRIDGE of Boston, born January 30, 1609, in Daventry, England. Entered Lincoln College, Oxford, June 20, 1623; afterwards of Cambridge, where received degree of A. B. in 1631. He taught at Magdalen Hall in 1634. Went to Bermuda and had charge of a church. Returned to England, and in 1669 came to New England. Installed April of that year as colleague with Mr. James Allen, pastor First Church, Boston. Was made freeman 1670, and died December 28, 1674.
THOMAS BRIDGE was born in Hackney, England, in 1656, and was educated at Oxford. He came to Boston March 17, 1704, from West Jersey, and was installed as a colleague pastor with Messrs. Allen and Wadsworth, May 10, 1705.
He was appointed by the Governor and Council to accompany the commissioners in the unsuccessful expedition in 1707 against Port Royal. He received the degree of M. A. in 1712 from Harvard University. Rev. Thomas Bridge, senior pastor of the First Church, died in the fifty-ninth year of his age and the eleventh of his ministry, September 26, 1715.
Mrs. Elizabeth Bridge, relict of Rev. Thomas Bridge, died May 22, 1722.
THOMAS OLIVER, Came with adult children to Boston. Was elder of the First Church. He was buried in the tomb which was afterwards owned by the First Church, and where the early pastors of that church were buried.
CAPT. RoBERT KEAYNE. Born at Windsor, England, in 1595. He was made a member of the Honourable Artillery Company of London, May 6, 1623. He came in the “Defence ’’ from London to America in 1635, aged forty years. His wife Ann was thirty-eight years old, and his son Benjamin sixteen years old. He was the first commander of the Artillery Company. He died in the house he owned in Boston on March 23, 1655–6.
The exact spot where he was buried is not known, but as King's Chapel Ground was at that time the only burying-ground in Boston, it is believed he was buried within the limits of King's Chapel Ground.
John WINSLow. Married Mary Chilton in Plymouth, Mass., October 12, 1624. He was the elder brother of Gov. Edward Winslow, and came to Plymouth in the “Fortune '' in 1621. He removed to Boston in 1656. Mary Chilton, as tradition comes down to us, was the first to leap from the boat to the rock now known as “Plymouth Rock.” They were both buried in this tomb, which has the Winslow coat-of-arms engraved upon
Brig. John Winslow. Born in Boston, October 29, 1753; died in Boston, November 29, 1819. He saved the communion plate of the Old South Church from the British by burying it, and from the church steeple he witnessed the battle of Bunker Hill. Upon going to the battlefield he was the first person to discover the body of General Warren.
He was appointed Deputy Paymaster-General, and saved the public chest and important papers after the defeat of the army under Montgomery at Quebec, and at the battle of Ticonderoga.
Was in charge of a battery in the campaign against Burgoyne, and, at his surrender, took account of the captured stores. He was subsequently stationed at West Point and White Plaims. On March 21, 1799, was made Brigadier-General of the Boston Brigade, and in 1809 Major-General of Militia. In 1788 was lieutenant, and in 1792 and 1798 captain of the Ancient and Honorable Artillery Company.
An infantry company was formed in Boston called the “Winslow Blues.” *
Original member of the Society of the Cincinnati, its treasurer, and was Treasurer of Suffolk County the last seven years of his life. His remains were placed in the Winslow tomb.
Among other notable descendants of the first John Winslow were Joshua Winslow, paymaster of the British forces in America; Col. Edward Winslow, Sheriff of Suffolk County and judge; Colonel Pollard, the first commander of the Cadets; Lord Lyndhurst, Admiral John A. Winslow, and ex-Mayor Nathaniel B. Shurtleff.
HEAR : LYETH
On the reverse side of this stone is the following:
HEAR . SLEAPS . THAT
WILLIAM PADDY, merchant, Boston. Came in the “James '' from Southampton, 1635, arrived in Boston June 3. Resided at Plymouth for a time, and was deacon of a church there. He represented Plymouth in the General Court of Deputies for Plymouth Colony in 1639.
He married (1) Alice Freeman; she died April 24, 1651. He married (2), in Boston, December 3, 1651, Mary Greenough.
Member of the Artillery Company, 1652; selectman, Boston, March 12, 1654–5, and was re-elected every year until his decease.
His gravestone was dug up on the north side of Old State House, near the centre door, June 18, 1830.
HERE LYETH INTER’D THE
TIME LIVED AT CRAMBROCK
HEE DECEASED THE 22 OF
JACOB SHEAFE, born August 4, 1616, at Cranbrook, Kent County, England, and was the son of Edmund Sheafe.
He married Margarett Webbe, September 7, 1643. He was a member of the Artillery Company, Boston, 1648; constable, 1651; selectman, 1657–8; clerk of Artillery Company, 1652. He died March 22, 1658–9, and was buried in King’s Chapel Ground.
HEzEKIAH USHER. — He was of Cambridge, March 14, 1639; freeman, 1642; about 1645 removed to Boston. He is said to have been the first bookseller in New England; member of the Artillery Company, 1638; second sergeant, 1657; first sergeant, 1663; ensign, 1664; selectman, Boston, 1659, and held the office until his death, 1676. In the winter of 1657–58 he went to England as agent of the Commission of the United Colonies, and bought, with money furnished by the London Corporation, a press, type, etc. The press was set up and was run by Samuel Green, and 1661 the New Testament in the Indian language was finished, printed, and distributed. He was representative for Billerica from 1671 to 1673, incluSIV62. He was agent of the Society for Propagating the Gospel Among the Indians. He was one of the founders of the Old South Church. His