« PreviousContinue »
daughter, Elizabeth, married Colonel Shrimpton; another daughter, Sarah, married Jonathan Tyng. He died May 14, 1676, and was buried in his tomb in King's Chapel Burying Ground, which now belongs to the Francis family. HEZEKIAH USHER. — born in Cambridge, Mass., June, 1639, and was the son of Hezekiah Usher, Sr. He married Bridget, widow of Leonard Hoar, who had been president of Harvard College, and daughter of Lady Alicia, widow of Lord Lisle, the regicide. He resided some years in Groton, Mass. In 1692 he was accused of witchcraft and confined in the common prison. He finally escaped to the house of a friend. A member of the Artillery Company, 1665 – he died at Lynn, July 11, 1697. His remains were brought to Boston, and laid in his father's tomb, July 14, 1697.
The following epitaph, written a short time after Governor Leverett's decease, is probably the eleven-line inscription engraved on the horizontal slab over his tomb in King's Chapel Ground, but the face of the stone is so much worn the epitaph cannot be deciphered. The copy of epitaph now given is taken from the genealogy of the Leverett family.
To ye Sacred Memory of N.E’s Heroe, Mars his Generall, & Vertues standard-bearer, & Learning's glory, yo faithfully pious, & piously - faithful subject to ye Great Majesty of Heaven & Earth, yt Experienced souldier in ye Church Militant, lately Listed in ye Invincible Triuphant Army of ye Lord of Hosts, ye deservedly Worshipful Jno Leverett Esq: ye Just
Prudent, & Impartiall Governor of ye Mattachusetts Colony, In N–E who sur
rendered to ye all Conquering Command of Death, March, 16, Anno Dom, 1678 et AETATIS SUAE 63. 9
The Leverett tomb is numbered 30, and the Governor and the members of his immediate family, Secretary Isaac Addington and many other noted personages were buried in this tomb.
John LEVERETT was born July 7, 1616. He came with his parents, Rev. John Cotton, and others, in the “Griffin.” He joined the First Church July 14, 1639.
He was the son of Thomas Leverett, the ruling elder of the First Church, who had been Alderman of Boston, England. He sailed from London, and arrived at-Boston, September 4, 1633.
He joined the Artillery Company 1639; clerk of the company, 1641; junior sergeant, 1642; senior sergeant, 1643; lieutenant, 1648; commander, 1652, 1663, and 1670. He was appointed captain under Sergeant-major Gibbons, August 12, 1645, to take the field against the Narragansett Indians; captain of a troop of horse in 1652; and, same year, captain of South Company. In 1662, granted one thousand acres of land in consideration of his services to the colony and five hundred more in 1671. On May 23, 1666, he was voted “ thanks '' by the General Court, and one hundred pounds gratuity for his care and pains in completing the batteries of Boston, and mounting the great artillery. In 1663, he was chosen Major-General of the Colony, and held the office ten years. He was captain of a troop of horse in Cromwell’s service in 1656. Deputy for Boston 1651, 1652, 1653, 1663, 1664, 1665. Speaker of the House, 1651, 1663, 1664. In 1665 chosen from the House of Deputies to be an assistant and Continued in that office until 1670. Deputy Governor, 1671, 1672. Governor, May 7, 1673 to 1678, and died March 16, 1679, while holding that office. He went to England 1644–45; was appointed captain in the regiment of Colonel Rainsburrow, but soon returned to Boston. In August, 1676, King Charles II. conferred the Order of Knighthood upon him, but he concealed the fact during his lifetime. He was sent with Edmund Hutchinson on an embassy to Miantonomoh, Sachem of the Narragansetts, in 1642. In 1654, he held a command under General Sedgwick in expelling the French from Penobscot. Governor Leverett's second wife was a daughter of General Sedgwick, and she died January 2, 1704, aged seventy-four years, and was buried January 8. Governor Leverett died March 16, 1679, and was buried with great pomp, March 25, in King’s Chapel Ground.
HERE LYETEI BURIED
* Body of Mrs
E SEPTEMBER Y 5TH 1676.
JHERE LYES THE BODY OF MIRS ELIZABETH
Here Lyes THe Body of MAJR THOMAS
Here Lyes The Body OF MRS. BETHIAH
Here Lyes The Body of THOMAS
MAJOR THOMAS BRATTLE was of Charlestown, 1656; removed to Boston, 1657. He was appointed cornet of the Suffolk Troop, May 30, 1670; lieutenant, October 13, 1675; captain, May 5, 1676; member of the Artillery Company, 1675.
On September 8, 1675, by order of the Council, Cornet Thomas Brattle, with a troop of horse under his command, went to Groton. He was with the forces at Narragansett. May 15, 1676, his command killed twenty of the Indians; May 24, following, he fought the Indians at the falls of the “Pocatuck River,” and June 30, 1676, he was sent on an expedition to Mount Hope; he was one of the founders of the Old South Church; representative for Lancaster in 1671 and 1672, and councillor 1678 and 1679; member of the Artillery Company in 1675; was a member of the commission to King Philip, with Captain William Davis and Captain William Hudson, at Taunton, in 1671; selectman, Boston, 1671 to 1683, inclusive.
HERE LIETH BVRIED
Dr. WILLIAM Avery was of Dedham as early as 1653. His first wife died in Dedham, September 28, 1678.
He established the first apothecary’s shop in New England. Member of the Artillery Company. Represented Springfield, 1669.
LADY ANNE ANDROs arrived in Boston, October 17, 1687, and died January 22, 1688, and was buried February 10. Funeral services were held at the South Meeting House.
Her remains were placed in the tomb, afterwards the Dr. Benjamin Church tomb, in the north part of the old burying place, and is now the property of the Phillips family.
It is handed down by tradition that Dr. Church was a distant relative of Lady Andros, and that many years ago one of Dr. Church’s relatives repaired the tomb, and found a stone slab on the floor of the tomb with this inscription :
“here lies the bones of Lady Anne Andros’’
In 1857 a tall marble monument was erected over this tomb by the Turner family.
East Side :
West Side :
ALICE C PHILLIPS
North Side :