« PreviousContinue »
HERE LYETH BURIED
CAPT. Roger CLAP came in the “Mary and John ” from Plymouth, England, and settled in Dorchester, Mass., 1630. He was born April 6, 1609, in Salcombe, Devonshire County, England. Freeman, Dorchester, 1634. One of the founders of the church in Dorchester. Was lieutenant of the Dorchester train band, 1644, and afterwards its captain. Member of the Artillery Company of Boston, 1646. Second sergeant Artillery Company, 1647; lieutenant of that company, 1655. Representative from Dorchester, 1647 and 1652 to 1665, except 1658 and 1671.
In 1659 the General Court granted him 500 acres of land.
On August 10, 1665, the General Court appointed him to command Castle William, and he held the command till 1686, and resigned. *
He died February 2, 1690–91, and his gravestone is standing in King’s Chapel Ground.
[Tomb. Coat of Arms.]
MAJOR THOMAS SAVAGE was a son of William Savage, and born in Taunton, England, in 1606. Came to Boston, April, 1635. Freeman, May 1636. Married (1) Faith, daughter of William and Ann Hutchinson. She died February 20, 1652, and he married (2), September 15, 1652, Mary, daughter of Rev. Zachariah Symmes of Charlestown. g Representative from Boston in the General Court, 1654–57, 1659–62, 1677 and 1678, ten years. In Hingham, 1663, and in Andover, 1671. Presided as Speaker, 1659, 1660, 1671, 1677 and 1678. Assistant, 1680 and 1681. In 1669, one of the founders of the Old South Church. In King Philip’s war he was commissioned as major of the Massachusetts forces under Major-General Denison. He had under his command the troop of Captain Paige and foot companies of Captain Henchman, Captain Prentice and Captain Moseley, numbering 300 men.
In the spring of 1675–6 he was again in command as major, and marched against the Indians, and Philip was killed in the Swamp fight.
He was elected a member of the Artillery Company of Boston in 1637; second sergeant, 1639; first sergeant, 1640; lieutenant, 1641 and 1645; captain, 1651, 1659, 1668, 1675 and 1680.
He died February 15, 1681–2, and was buried in King’s Chapel Ground.
CAPT. WILLIAM DAvis. Elected a member of the Artillery Company, 1643; admitted to church July 28, 1644; freeman, 1645; selectman, Boston, 1647, and from 1654 to 1661, inclusive, and from 1670 to 1675, inclusive. One of the founders of Old South Church, 1669. Lieutenant, 1652; captain, 1656, of the Suffolk troop, and commanded a troop of horse in Ninigret’s war. Was appointed with General Leverett, afterwards governor, to visit the Dutch governor, Stuyvesant, at New York, in 1653, and was commissioner to King Philip at Taunton in 1671, in company with Captain Hudson and Thomas Brattle. Captain Davis accompanied the force of Captain Thomas Lake in the expedition to Kennebec in 1676, and with him escaped at a back door, when the Indians had gained the fort, to the water’s edge, where Captain Lake fell. Captain Davis, though wounded, escaped. He represented Springfield in House of Representatives in 1652, 1666, 1671 and 1672. He married a daughter of William Pynchon, the founder of the town of Springfield, and a member of the Court of Assistants. Captain Davis represented Haverhill in 1668. He was fourth sergeant of the Artillery Company, Boston, 1645; ensign, 1652; lieutenant, 1659 and 1663; captain, 1664, 1672. He resided on State street, formerly King’s street. He died May 24, 1676, and was buried in King’s Chapel Ground.
HERE LYETH BURIED
CAPTAIN JOHN MELLows. – Born in England; made freeman, 1671. Had a grant of land in the Stonington country. He died February 14, 1682. His widow, Martha, married Deane Winthrop, sixth son of first Gov. John Winthrop.
HERE LYETH BURIED
DECEMBER § 6
CAPT. WILLIAM HUDson was a member of the Artillery Company, Boston, in 1640; freeman, October 12, 1640. He went to England and served as ensign in the company of John Leverett, under Israel Stoughton, Rainsburrow’s regiment, in the Earl of Manchester’s army, on the side of Parliament. The 200 soldiers to be raised in Massachusetts in 1664, for the expedition against the Dutch, were to be commanded by Capt. Hugh Mason and Capt. William Hudson. He was appointed on the commissions to King Philip in 1671, in company with Capt. William Davis and Thomas Brattle. He was lieutenant in a militia company in Boston in 1654; captain of the same company in 1661; fourth sergeant of the Artillery Company, 1646; third sergeant, 1647; second sergeant, 1650; first sergeant, 1651; ensign, 1653; lieutenant, 1656 and 1660, and captain in 1661. *
HERE LYES ¥ BoDY of JOEIN MARION DIED JAN UA * 27–1705 IN # 86 YEAR OF HIS AGE
HERE LYES Y
1709 in IN # 85th YEAR OF BIER AGE
JoBN MARION lived in Watertown in 1641. John Marion and wife Sara, were admitted to the First Church in Boston, February 15, 1651–52. He was admitted a freeman in May 26, 1652. He died January 27, 1705. She died February 3, 1709.
EIERE LYES BURIED
Joseph BRIDGHAM, son of Henry, born January 17, 1651–52; freeman, 1678; member of the Artillery Company, 1674; first sergeant, Artillery Company, 1691; clerk of the market, 1678–79; selectman, March 4, 1691–92, and also recorder at same time. Represented Northampton in the General Court 1690; and Boston in 1697.
On February 13, 1683–84, was appointed by the General Court, ensign of a company of foot.
He died, January 5, 1708–9, and was buried in King's Chapel Ground.