« PreviousContinue »
HERE LYES INTERED
John INDIcott, was warden of King's Chapel; was a cooper by trade; and died December 7, 1711, aged 70 years.
John PoolE, son of William ; merchant; married Elizabeth (1677), daughter of Governor Brenton.
“November 10, 1711; Mr. John Pole died Nov 7th, we buried this day in a Tomb in the old Burying place. Bearers, Winthrop, Sewall; Addington, Corwin; Walley, Higginson. The Gov" and many of the Council, there.” — Sewall.
His wife, Elizabeth (Brenton) Poole, died October 17, 1694, aged forty-four years.
A horizontal slab, with the Poole family epitaphs inscribed thereon, is just south of Judge Dawes' monument. There was a coat-of-arms inserted in this stone, but it has disappeared.
CoL. FRANCIS BRINLEY was a native of London, and was educated at Eton. He came to Newport, R.I., in 1710, at the invitation of his grandfather, Francis Brinley, who made him his
In 1718 he married Deborah Lyde of Boston. They resided in the mansion called “Brinley Place,” in Roxbury, which was taken down in 1902.
He was colonel of the Roxbury regiment, Deputy Surveyor of the province, one of the founders of King’s Chapel. He died in Roxbury, November 27, 1765, aged seventy-five years. He was buried in his tomb in King's Chapel Ground.
HERE LYES BURIED
§ 1, 1729 –
IN # 67th YEAR
HERE LYEs Y BoDY OF
CAPT. JoHN ALDEN, Boston, mariner, born March 12, 1663; died in Boston, February 1, 1729–30, aged sixty-seven years. He married, in 1684, Elizabeth, daughter of William Phelps, Sr. He had a son Gillam, and a son Nathaniel, who had a son Nathaniel. The gravestones of Capt. John, his son Gillam and grandson Nathaniel, are standing in King’s Chapel Ground. Capt. John Alden was a son of Capt. John Alden, eldest son of John Alden, the emigrant and Pilgrim of Plymouth and Duxbury, and Priscilla, “the Puritan Maiden.” Capt. John, Sr., was born in Plymouth, Mass., 1622; freeman 1648, mariner, and 1659 removed to Boston from Duxbury. Was an original member of the Old South Church at its organization in 1669. He sailed for many years as a ship-master. John Hull records in his Diary, “1669 11th mo. Master John Alden went to England in ketch Friendship being three-fourths mine.”
BENJAMIN MoUNTFoRT arrived in Boston, in ship “Dove,” from London, in 1675. He was a brother of Edmund and Henry Mountfort.
He was a merchant, and one of the founders of King’s Chapel, of which he was warden in 1690 and 1696.
In 1679 was a member of the Artillery Company.
He married Rebecca Foster of Dorchester. His will was proved September 7, 1714. His remains were buried in King’s Chapel Ground.
[Tomb 19, Centre of Ground.]
HERE LYES INTOMB'D THE
AMBROSE DAWEs, son of William Dawes of Braintree, born in Braintree, July 24, 1642. Was freeman in 1671. Married Mary, daughter of Thomas Bumstead. He held town offices in 1678 and 1683; constable, 1688; inspector of brick, 1691; member of Captain Savage's Company, 1680–1686; tithingman, 1680 and 1686, 1691–1697.
In 1692 he served in “his majesty’s army at Pemaquid” as a soldier and as a workman. In the service he lost one of his eyes, and June 19, 1695, the Provincial Legislature allowed him ten pounds out of the public treasury. He was the ancestor of Col. Thomas Dawes, born in 1733; and Judge Thomas Dawes, born in 1757, dying in 1825, was the son of Colonel Thomas. A member of the Artillery Company in 1674.