« PreviousContinue »
Commissioner for the town, August 24, 1691; representative, 1693–4–5; selectman, 1694–5.
Governor's Council from 1703 to 1728. Was a member of the Old South Church. He died June 2, 1734, aged eighty-six. Was laid in his tomb in King’s Chapel Ground.
ABIGAIL BROMFIELD, grand-daughter of Hon. Edward Bromfield and daughter of Edward, his son, was born January 9, 1726, and married, June 13, 1744, Hon. William Philips, who was Lieutenant-Governor of Massachusetts.
EDwARD BROMFIELD, the builder of the first organ made in America, died August 18, 1756.
LIEUT.-Gov. WILLIAM PHILLIPs, died May 26, 1827, and was buried in the Bromfield tomb.
COLONEL THOMAS FITCH, merchant, of Boston, son of Thomas and Martha (Fiske) Fitch, and was born, February 5, 1668–9, in Boston. He married Abiel, daughter of Rev. Samuel Danforth of Roxbury. Her mother, Mary (Wilson) Danforth, was the youngest child of Rev. John Wilson of Boston. He joined the Artillery Company, Boston, 1700; and that year was captain of a company of militia in Boston. In 1712 was major of a Boston regiment of militia, and was afterwards lieutenant-colonel and colonel Was first sergeant of Artillery Company, 1701; ensign, 1703; lieutenant, 1705; captain, 1708, 1720 and 1725. Selectman of Boston, 1703 to 1705, inclusive. Representative to General Court, 1709, 1711 and 1712; Councillor, from 1715 to 1730, inclusive, and 1734. Associate Justice Superior Court, January 7, 1718–19. He owned a part of the Common on what is now Boylston street; his heirs, in 1757, sold the lot, now the Central Buryingground, to the town. He was a member of the Old South Church, February 7, 1691. He died June 23, 1736, and was buried in his tomb, No. 19, King’s Chapel Ground, now the property of of the Pierce family, who descended from Colonel Fitch through the female line.
ENOCH BRowN was born in Attleborough, Mass., about 1750. Hemarried Abigail Kendrick of Newton. She married for her Second husband Captain Jonathan Freeman.
Tomb No. 16 was the joint property of Enoch Brown and Captain Henry Prentice prior to 1790, and Mr. Brown and his wife Abigail and Captain Henry Prentice were buried there.
CAPTAIN HENRY PRENTIss (Prentice), merchant, Boston, son of Rev. Joshua and Mary Prentiss, was born in Holliston, Mass., March 7, 1749. He married, in 1775, Ruth, daughter of Jonathan Freeman of Boston. He was present when the five citizens were killed on State street, March 5, 1770, by the British soldiers. He was a member of the “Tea Party.” He served as captain at the siege of Boston, Long Island, the crossing of the Delaware and at the battle of Trenton. He was a member of the Artillery Company in 1786; was overseer of the poor, Boston, from 1784 to 1787; a sea captain, 1789; a member of Massachusetts Lodge of F. and A. M., February 9, 1789. He died in Medfield, Mass., August 31, 1821, and was buried in Enoch Brown’s tomb in the King’s Chapel Ground.
WILLIAM TYLER of Boston was the second son of Thomas Tyler (who was the emigrant ancester of the Boston Tylers) and Miriam Simpkins. Thomas Tyler came from Budleigh, county of Devonshire, England, and was captain of a merchant ship. William Tyler was born March 15, 1688; died July, 1758, and was buried in his tomb in King's Chapel Ground. He married (1) Sarah, daughter of Joseph Royall; she was born September 23, 1688, and died in April, 1740. He married (2) Jane Pepperell of Kittery, Me. There were four children by his first wife. Thomas married Bethia, daughter of Charles Little of Plymouth. Royal Tyler, second son of William, resided in Boston. Graduated at Harvard University (B.A.), 1743; representative, 1760 to 1764, inclusive; one of the Sons of Liberty; member of the Council, 1764 to 1771, inclusive.
He married Mary, daughter of John Steel of Boston. He died May 20, 1771.
His children were (1) Jane; (2) John Steel, married Sarah, daughter of William Whitwell by his first wife; (3) William Clark Tyler, was aide-de-camp to Governor Bowdoin during Shays' Rebellion.
John Steel Tyler, son of Royall, was adjutant of Colonel John Hancock’s Independent Company, and served in that command in Rhode Island in the Revolutionary War. Colonel John Glover commissioned him first lieutenant of the Fourteenth Massachusetts Infantry, February 5, 1776. He was buried in the Tyler tomb in King's Chapel Ground.
CoL. JACOB WENDELL, merchant, of Boston, was ninth child of John and Elizabeth Wendell, and was born in Albany, N. Y., August 5, 1691. He married, August 12, 1714, Sarah Oliver, daughter of James Oliver of Cambridge. Colonel Jacob had four sons, Jacob, John, Mico, and Oliver. Judge Oliver Wendell, the youngest son, married Mary Jackson, and had Sarah, who married Rev. Abiel Holmes, and they were the parents of Dr. Oliver Wendell Holmes. Margaret, the twelfth child of Oliver Wendell and Mary, his wife, married William Phillips, whose son, Hon. John Phillips, was the first Mayor of Boston. He was a member of the Council, 1734 to 1760, inclusive; special justice of the Court of Common Pleas, justice of the peace. He was lieutenant-colonel of the Boston regiment, 1733–35; colonel, 1736 to 1743; captain of the Artillery Company, 1735 and 1745. He resided on Oliver street, and afterwards on School street, opposite King’s Chapel. He died September 7, 1761, aged 70 years, and was buried in King’s Chapel Ground.