Page images


[No. 7.]
The Family Tomb Of

HoN. JAMES PITTs. Graduated at Harvard University in 1731. Married Elizabeth Bowdoin, a sister of Governor Bowdoin. He died during the siege of Boston. He had three sons, John, Samuel and Lendall, and one daughter, Elizabeth, who married Colonel Warren of Portsmouth, N. H. His eldest son, Hon. John Pitts, graduated at Harvard University. He was a man of wealth, a patriot, and one of the Provincial Congress. Was an associate of John Adams, Samuel Adams, James Bowdoin, John Hancock and James Otis. Selectman of Boston during the siege. He met General Washington and tendered to him, in writing, the thanks and congratulations of the town when it was evacuated by the British troops. He married a daughter of Judge John Tyng. Samuel Pitts, the second son of Hon. James Pitts, was born in Boston in 1745; died March 6, 1805; married a daughter of William Davis, Esq., of Boston. Lendall Pitts, the youngest son of Hon. James Pitts, was born in Boston, and died December 31, 1787. Was active in the struggle for independence and was a member of the “Tea Party.” Married Elizabeth, daughter of Timothy Fitch, Esq., of Medford.

[Tomb.] JOSEPH SEWALL 1816

Joseph SEwALL, born in Boston, March 9, 1762; merchant, Marblehead, 1785, at Boston, 1799. Was Treasurer of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, 1827, 28, 59, 30, 31.

Married, September 21, 1788, Mary, daughter of Thomas, Robie of Marblehead, merchant, and of Mary, his wife, daughter of Rev. Simon Bradstreet. His wife died July 23, 1834, aged seventy-one years. He died May 5, 1850, in his eighty-ninth year, and they were buried in his tomb, No. 16, in the middle of King’s Chapel Ground.

[Tomb No. 22.]

ARNOLD WELLs, merchant, Boston. Born in Boston, September 21, 1761. Graduated from Harvard University, 1780. Married (1) Elizabeth, daughter of Maj.-Gen. Joseph Warren. Married (2), 1806, Nancy (Brown) Lane. No children. He was commander of the Independent Company of Cadets, 1801 to 1805, inclusive; member of the Artillery Company, 1811; brigadier-general, Third Brigade, First Division of Militia, 1810 to 1818; captain Artillery Company, June 3, 1811. He died March 2, 1827, aged sixty-five years.

In Memory Of
Capt Winthrop Gray
Who Died June 30 — 1782
aged 42 years.

Tomb No. 22 was built in the year 1790, for Thomas Crafts and Thomas Bell. Thomas Crafts, Sr., father of Thomas, was the first deposited in the tomb. He died, 1794, aged eighty-two. Ann Crafts, wife of Thomas, Sr., died January 31, 1796, aged eighty-five. Thomas Crafts, born April 9, 1797, died August 26, 1798, aged thirty-one years. Thomas Bell, married Hannah Crafts, daughter of Thomas Crafts, Sr. Thomas Bell died November 23, 1808, aged eighty-two, and Hannah, his wife, died September 8, 1817, aged eighty-nine, and both were buried in this tomb. Five generations of the Bell and Crafts families are buried in this tomb.

Gov. WILLIAM SHIRLEY was son of a London merchant, and was educated at Cambridge, England. He arrived in Boston August, 1731. He was Governor of Massachusetts from 1741 to 1756. IIe was the prime mover of the successful expedition against Cape Breton in 1745, which resulted in the capture of Louisburg, which was heavily fortified, being the most important in strength in America. The army of New England men was 4,000 strong, commanded by Col. William Pepperell, and a small fleet under Commodore Warren. This force embarked at Boston, March 24, 1745. In February, 1755, William Shirley was made major-general, and in 1759 was commissioned lieutenant-general. He died in Roxbury, March 24, 1771, and was interred in tomb No. 18, under King’s Chapel, with military honors, April 1, 1771. The funeral was attended by the Artillery Company.

born 1749
died Oct. 25, 1829,
aged 79 years.

JoHN CoFFIN JONEs, born in Newbury in 1749; graduated at Harvard University, 1768; merchant; representative for Boston; Senator, and was President of the Senate; member of the convention held at Annapolis in 1786. Buried in tomb No. 16, under King’s Chapel. Chevalier de Saint Sauveur. On September 8* 1778 at 10 o’clock in the evening, a quarrel began between Americans and some French sailors in Boston. In this unfortunate affair, M. de Saint Sauveur a gallant French officer, who with Mr. Pleville, endeavored to put a stop to the riot, were seriously wounded, and M de Saint Sauveur died on the 15 of September. Chevalier de Saint Sauveur was lieutenant of the 80 gun ship. Tonnant, [Count of Brengum, Chief of Squadron,I as aid with rank of Major. The legislature of Massachusetts on September 16, 1778 passed resolutions condemning the outrage, and voted to erect a monument to his memory at the place of burial, and to attend in procession at his funeral to the place of interment. Also “Resolved, that Col. Thomas Dawes be a committee to see the Monumental Stone erected accordingly.” The town Council also proposed to give him a funeral suitable to his rank, but these offers were declined. Dr Samuel Cooper procured the use of a tomb in King’s Chapel for the interment of the remains and according to the last wishes of the deceased; “eight sailors of the “Tonnant’ bore the coffin on their shoulders” says M de Grandos (secretary of the Royal Squadron) “I preceded them with the sexton and gravediggers; the Franciscan Monk, M. de Borda de Puyseur; the body servant of the deceased and perhaps two or three Frenchmen, formed the procession; we started in this order at ten o'clock, and arrived at the Church, called the Chapel of the King, found the basement of the church all illuminated with many candles; the reverend father deposited the remains without ceremony; the door of the vault was then closed and padlocked; we then returned to sign a certificate of interment, which I had already drawn up.” [“Chapel of the King” was King's Chapel, but which tomb the remains were placed in is not recorded.]

[ocr errors][subsumed][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][merged small]


Mayor of the City of Boston :

SIR, - In accordance with chapter 3, section 22, of the Revised Ordinances, the trustees for children present their annual report for the financial year ending January 31, 1903, this being the sixth year of the Children's Institutions Department and the forty-fifth of the Institutions Department.

The term of office of Mr. Horatio A. Lamb expired on May 1, and Dr. Hasket Derby was appointed for the term ending in 1907. The members of the board and the times of

expiration of their appointments are as follows:

CHARLEs P. PUTNAM, Chairman . May 1, 1906
Miss ELLEN H. BAILEY, Secretary “ 1904

JOHN O’HARE go g o . “ 1903
Miss HELEN CHEEVER . * . “ 1904
Mrs. G. F. H. MURRAY . . . . 1906
LEE M. FRIEDMAN t e . “ 1905
HASKET DER BY . e * . . . 1807

During the past year forty meetings of the trustees have been held. The standing committees are:


Committee on Finance. — The Chairman, Mr. O'Hare, Mr. Friedman, Dr. Derby, Mrs. Murray, Miss Cheever, and the Secretary. Committee on Schools. – The Chairman, Mrs. Murray, Miss Cheever, and Mr. Friedman. Committee on Placing-Out Division. Dr. . Derby, Mrs. Murray, Miss Cheever, and the Secretary. Committee on Releases.— Mr. O’Hare and the Secretary. Committee on Legislation. — The Chairman and Mr. FriedIlla,I). The members of the board all serve in turn on the visiting committee for the Parental School and the House of Reformation, two members being appointed for two months in succession. They also visit the children placed out in families and institutions at irregular intervals. The children under the care of the board are classed as follows: (a.) Juvenile offenders at the House of Reformation (Rainsford Island), and probationers therefrom. (b.) Truants at the Parental School (West Roxbury). (c.) Dependent and neglected children boarded or placed free in families (usually in the country), beside a number in the care of schools for defectives, or other hospitals or institutions, not under the management of the trustees, where they have been placed for training or hospital treatment. The total number of children now in the care of the department is 1,457, or 51 more than at the beginning of the year, divided as follows:

In the House of Reformation ę * ce go & 119 On probation from the House of Reformation {* e 225 In the Parental School { } { } { } o wo {e 242 On probation from the Parental School . te te * 16 Dependent children . te go e © & * > 651 Neglected children so Jo " so go te . . . 204

Total . e to te to & te g . 1,457

The total number of children admitted to the care of the department during the year was 501, or 71 more than were admittted during the previous year, divided as follows:

[ocr errors]
« PreviousContinue »