Page images
[ocr errors][ocr errors][graphic][ocr errors][graphic][graphic]


50 CITY HALL, February 1, 1903.

Superintendent of Streets :

SIR, - I herewith submit the following report of the work done for the Street Department during the year ending January 1, 1903:


The work of building the retaining walls on each side of the depressed portion of the street, under the contract with John F. McBride and Jesse Moulton, dated July 2, 1901, was completed on May 20, 1902, at a cost of $24,444.17. The American Bridge Company, under its contract dated November 22, 1901, completed the steel work for the bridge over the depressed roadway at the ends of the side roadways in April, for which it was paid $2,800. The concrete and asphalt floor of this bridge was laid by the Boston Asphalt Company, under a contract dated April 28, 1902, at a cost of $750. The work was completed on May 13. Railings were built on the bridge and retaining walls by W. A. Snow & Co., under a contract dated April 5, 1902, at a cost of $1,277. The work was finished on August 2.


The work of building a retaining wall along the westerly side line of Carleton street, adjoining the tracks of the Providence Division of the New York, New Haven & Hartford Railroad, between Yarmouth and West Newton streets, has been prosecuted during the year, and the entire wall was completed about October 10, 1902.

The work was done under a contract with John Cashman, dated October 19, 1901.

The portion of the wall as built between Yarmouth street and Berwick park has a pile and concrete foundation, the

exposed face of the foundation towards the railroad tracks being of granite. Above the foundation the wall is of brick masonry 12 inches thick, with pilasters 16 inches square every six feet. Where this wall supports any portion of the street it is backed up with Portland cement concrete. The foundation for the whole wall was designed and built of such dimensions that it will support a wall of sufficient thickness to maintain the street if it should ever be filled to the grade of the adjoining streets. The brick wall is capped with an artificial stone coping, and an artificial stone curb is built for the entire length of the wall. The portion of the wall between Berwick park and West Newton street is built of granite, and rests on a pile and concrete foundation. The wall has a granite coping, the back of which serves for the street curb. The wall for its entire length has a wooden fence supported by iron standards set in the granite or artificial stone coping.


The flooring and surfaces of the bridges have been built with the exception of the asphalt sidewalk on the bridge over the railroad; this is under contract and will be laid early in the summer. The flooring of the bridge over Shoreham street consists of brick and concrete arches turned between steel beams. This work was done by W. H. Ellis under a contract dated August 13, 1902, and cost, including the artificial stone sidewalks, $2,700. The roadway of this bridge is paved with brick, and was done under a contract with W. H. Ellis at a cost of $2.45 per square yard. The flooring of the bridge over the railroad is of hard pine, and was laid by the Cahill Construction Company under a contract dated July 23, 1902, for the sum of $3,906. This bridge was paved with brick by W. H. Ellis. The iron fences for both bridges were built by P. J. Dinn & Co. under a contract dated July 9, 1902, at a cost of $848.


The filling done under the contract with Simon J. Donovan dated October 25, 1898, was completed May 27. The total amount of filling deposited was 136,348 cubic yards at 46% cents per cubic yard. \


A flight of artificial stone steps was built in Mead street, between Russell street and Bunker Hill street. These steps start at a point about 67 feet east of Russell street at elevation 57.50, and extend 94.5 feet to elevation 102.00 (a total rise of 44.5 feet) to a point about 115 feet west of Bunker Hill street. There are 7 flights of 10 steps each and 6 platforms 5 feet wide. The steps are 12 feet wide in the clear with buttresses 1.5 feet wide. An iron fence was built on each buttress with a hand rail in the centre of the steps. A wing wall was built on the northerly street line extending 32.5 feet from the top; two end walls were built from the sides of the steps to the street lines, each 7.5 feet long. The contract for building these steps was awarded to the W. A. Murtfeldt Co. on June 7, 1902. Work under this contract was begun June 18, 1902, and completed October 22, 1902, at the contract price of $4,975.


All work in connection with this bridge, including the erection of the steel superstructure and the alteration of the parapet walls to conform to the surface of the street after it was widened, was finished early in July.


Plans and specifications have been begun for the reconstruction of this wharf.


Examinations and reports were made on the condition of the piers and drops, and a plan and specifications were made for the reconstruction of the middle pier at the East Boston landing of the North Ferry ; no work has yet been done on the pier. $

A survey was also made of the property at the Boston landing of the South Ferry.


Working plans, specifications and forms of contract were prepared and forwarded for the following assessment streets and public alleys: Adams street, Charlestown, Common street to Chestnut street. Ainsley street, Rosemont street southerly about 220 feet. Alford street, Mystic river to Everett line. * B street, West Fourth street to Congress street.

JBennington Street, Moore street to Saratoga street. Bennington Street, Saratoga street to the Revere town line. Berkeley Street, Boylston street to St. James avenue. JBird street, Columbia road to Hancock street. JBlanche street, Greenhill street to Preston street. Bowen street, E street to F street. Brackett Street, Washington street to Faneuil street. Bynner street, Day street to Creighton street. Capen Street, Evans street to Fairmount street. Carter street, Charlestown, Cambridge street to Roland street. Charlotte street, Blue Hill avenue to Bradshaw street. Columbia road, I street to Marine park. Columbia road, Buttonwood street to N. Y., N. H. & H. R.R. bridge. JDakota street, Washington street to Greenbrier street. JDarling street, Calumet street to Hillside street. Lilworth Street, Camden street to Northampton street. JE street, Fargo street to Summer street. *Fayston street, Blue Hill avenue to Mascoma street. JHamblem street, Charlestown, Arlington avenue across George Street. Haverford street, from Cornwall street 309 feet southeasterly. * Hinckley street, Pleasant street to Bakersfield street. Jindsey street, Greenbrier street to Waldeck street. Jouder's lane, at Centre street, artificial stone steps, etc. Mead street, Russell street to Bunker Hill street. Milton avenue, Lauriat avenue to Norfolk street. * Morrill street, Pleasant street to Bakersfield street. Moultrie street, Allston street to Washington street. * Oak Square avenue, Washington street to Faneuil street. Oakwood street, Norfolk street to Torrey street. Roland street, B. & M. R.R. to the Somerville line. Rosemont street, Adams street to Gustine avenue. f St. Botolph street, Irvington street to B. & A. R.R. * Snow street, Washington street to Union street. South Huntington avenue, Heath street to Centre street. Vicksburg street, East First street to East Second street. * Vinson street, Park street to Geneva avenue. Walter street, Jones street to entrance to Arnold Arboretum Rough Grading.” Washington street, Dorchester, Talbot avenue to Euclid street. Wayland street, Howard avenue to Dacia street. Windermere road, Stoughton street to Cushing avenue. Winthrop street, Dennis street to Brook avenue. Public Alley 12, Poplar street to Public Alley 14. Public Alley 13, Poplar street to Public Alley 14. Public Alley 14, south of Poplar street, from Public Alley 12 to Public Alley 15. Public Alley 15, Poplar street to Public Alley 14.

[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]

* Plans only were forwarded; specifications were forwarded the previous season. f Built by private parties under the supervision of the Street Department.

« PreviousContinue »