A Reader's Guide to John Milton

Front Cover
Syracuse University Press, 1998 M02 1 - 408 pages
Marjorie Nicolson—one of the foremost authorities on Milton—examines Milton's work, beginning with the famous Minor Poems, "L'Allegro," "II Penseroso," "Comus" (and "Arcades"), and "Lycides." She explores Milton's middle years, when he was diverted from poetry to become Latin Secretary under Oliver Cromwell. Finally, she looks at the great poems, including a book-by-book analysis of Paradise Lost and a careful reading of Milton's poetic "closet drama," Samson Agonistes.

From inside the book


The Education of a Poet
The Minor Poems

28 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1998)

Marjorie Hope Nicolson taught for many years at Columbia University. Her books include Newton Demands the Muse, Voyages to the Moon, and The Breaking of the Circle.

Bibliographic information