« PreviousContinue »
The City Seal was adopted by "An Ordinance to Establish the City Seal,” passed January 2, 1823, which provides “That the design hereto annexed, as sketched by John R. Penniman, giving a view of the City, be the device of the City Seal; that the motto be as follows, to wit: 'Sicut patribus sit Deus nobis'; and that the inscription be as follows: — 'Bostonia condita, A.D. 1630. Civitatis regimine donata, A.D. 1822.” The motto is taken from 1 Kings, viii., 57: “God be with us as He was with our fathers.
The seal as it first appeared is shown above.
The seal as it was afterwards changed, and has ever since continued to be used, was first shown on page 221 of the volume of laws and ordinances, commonly known as the “First Revision,” published in 1827, and is established as the City Seal at the present time by Revised Ordinances of 1914, Chapter 1, Section 5, which provides that “The seal of the City shall be circular in form; shall bear a view of the City; the motto 'Sicut PATRIBUS SIT DEUS Nobis,' and the inscription, 'BOSTONIA CONDITA, A.D. 1630. CIVITATIS REGIMINE DONATA, A.D. 1822,' as herewith set forth."
The seal as changed in 1827 is shown on the opposite page.
CITY OF BOSTON
IN CITY COUNCIL
FEBRUARY 2, 1925.
UNDER THE DIRECTION OF THE COMMITTEE ON RULES, TO PREPARE AND
POCKET EDITION OF THE ORGANIZATION OF THE CITY GOVERNMENT AND
HEADS OF DEPARTMENTS; THE EXPENSE THUS INCURRED TO BE CHARGED
TO THE APPROPRIATION FOR CITY DOCUMENTS.
PASSED. APPROVED BY THE MAYOR, FEBRUARY 3, 1925.