« PreviousContinue »
Street Commissioners; in 1907 they were charged with the licensing of street stands for the sale of merchandise, in 1908 with the regulation of street traffic, and in 1913 with the authority to grant or withhold permits for the erection of automobile garages. The fees for these permits are : For erecting a public garage, $100 ; for a business garage for trucks, $100 ; repair shop, isolated, $5.00 ; unit group, $1.00 each unit ; private garage for one or two cars, $1.00, and if in excess of two cars, $1.00 more for each such excess.
There is no annual garage fee. By the Amended City Charter of 1909 the jurisdiction previously exercised by the Board of Aldermen is vested in the Street Commissioners, with the written approval of the Mayor, as to the naming of streets, as to trees in the streets, as to permits or licenses for special use of same, including the construction of coal holes, vaults, bay windows and mar. quees, in, under, or over the streets, also for the location of conduits, poles and posts and the storage of inflammables and explosives. They collect the annual license of $1.00 for selling and keeping gasoline.
As authorized by Chapter 680, Acts of 1913, the Street Commissioners issued on April 9, 1914, their "Rules and Regulations Relating to Projections on or over Public Highways.” These rules were amended in 1915, as authorized by Chapter 176, General Acts of that year, the changes taking effect July 20. The penalty for disregard of said rules is a fine not exceeding five dollars for each day of negligence after five days' notice.
Fees for permits and each annual renewal thereof are fixed as follows: Illuminated signs
$1 00 Two-foot projecting signs (not illuminated) Other projecting signs (not illuminated) Lettering on awnings Lamps, unlettered Marquees, or awnings Lettering or signs on marquees Hoisting devices Clocks Lettering in sidewalks
1 00 Other structures Temporary signs on buildings for purposes of public interest
No fee Awnings above the first story, not used for advertising
No fee TRAFFIC RULES. As provided by Chapter 447, Acts of 1908, the Street Commissioners were authorized to make traffic rules. The latest revision of same to May 1, 1925, shows 75 one-way streets, the list of which appears in “Boston Statistics, 1925.” The rules are enforced by the Police Commissioner, having in charge a traffic squad of 180 men.
1 00 1 00 1 00 1 00
Office, 808 City Hall Annex, eighth floor. (Ord. 1908, Chap. 6; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 35; Ord. 1919, Chap. 6.)
MARK L. HERSEY, Superintendent.
The Superintendent of Supplies furnishes all the material, apparatus and other supplies required for the special use of the Public Works Depart ment, and such material for other departments of the City as may be asked for by requisition signed by the head of such department, except furniture and stationery.
Office, 1 Beacon street, sixth floor. [Spec. Stat. 1918, Chap. 185; Ord. 1918, Chap. 3; Ord. 1922, Chap. 1;
Stat. 1923, Chaps. 399, 405, 480; Stat. 1924, Chaps. 120, 403, 444;
ERNEST R. SPRINGER, Chief Engineer. This department was established to exercise the powers and perform the duties formerly in charge of the Boston Transit Commission, whose official existence terminated July 1, 1918.
Office, City Hall, Rooms 21 and 22, first floor. (Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 40; Stat. 1908, Chap. 210; Ord. 1908, Chap. 4;
Ç. C. Title IV., Chap. 9; Stat. 1911, Chap. 413; Stat. 1913, Chaps. 367, 672, 788; Rev. Ord. 1914, Chap. 36; Stat. 1920, Chap. 140; Ord. 1920, Chap. 12; Ord. 1921, Chaps. 1 and 2; Stat. 1922, Chap. 521; Ord. 1925, Chap. 2.
John J. CURLEY, City Treasurer. Term ends in 1925.
The City Treasurer has the care and custody of the current funds of the City, of all moneys, properties and securities placed in his charge by any statute or ordinance, or by any gift, devise, bequest, or deposit, and pays all bills and demands against the City.
The City Treasurer is also County Treasurer and Treasurer of the Sinking Funds Dept. He publishes reports yearly, also monthly statements.
VESSELS AND BALLAST DEPARTMENT.
Office, 173 Sumner street, East Boston. (Gen. Laws, Chap. 102, 88 6–13; Rev. Ord. 1898, Chap. 41; Rev. Ord.
1914, Chap. 39.] CORNELIUS J. DONOVAN, Chief Weigher. Appointed annually. This department is under the charge of the Weighers of Vessels and Ballast, two in number, one of whom is designated by the Mayor as chief. They receive the fees, after payment of expenses, as compensation for their services.
WEIGHTS AND MEASURES DEPARTMENT.
Office, 106 City Hall Annex, first floor. (Gen. Laws, Chap. 98, $$ 34–55; Stat. 1882, Chap. 42; Rev. Ord. 1898,
Chap. 43; Stat. 1909, Chap. 382; Stat. 1910, Chap. 209; Stat. 1913,
Ord. 1923, Chap. 4.]
HUTCHINSON, THOMAS A. KELLEY, FRED A. THISSELL, JOHN A.
LEWIS. PHILIP F. LEONARD, Mechanician.
The standards in use are supplied by the Commonwealth and are determined by the United States Coast and Geodetic Survey, Washington, D. C. The office was authorized by the statute of February 26, 1800. Annual reports have been published since 1868. By Chapter 382, Acts of 1909, all principal and assistant sealers are included within the classified civil service.