« PreviousContinue »
Offenders,” provides for the transfer to said court of the jurisdictions, authority and powers hitherto vested in the Municipal Court of Boston, under Chapter 334 of the Acts of 1903. The act took effect September 1, 1906.
The Justice, Special Justices and Clerk of this Court are appointed by the Governor. The Justice of the court is empowered to appoint two probation officers, and so many assistant probation officers as he may deem necessary
PROBATION OFFICERS. [Stat. 1891, Chap. 356; Stat. 1892, Chaps. 242, 276; Stat. 1897, Chap. 266;
Stat. 1910, Chap. 332; Stat. 1913, Chap. 612; Stat. 1914, Chap. 491;
These officers are appointed by the judges of the respective criminal courts to ascertain all facts relating to the offenders brought before the courts. In the performance of their official duties they have all the powers of police officers.
BOSTON MUNICIPAL COURT.
Chief Probation Officer.— Albert J. Sargent.
A. McCarthy, Frank E. Hawkes, James H. Knight, Fugene J. Calla-
JUVENILE COURT.— John B. O'Hare, Walter C. Bell, Edward J. O'Mara,
May A. Burke.
BRANCH MUNICIPAL COURTS AND EAST BOSTON DISTRICT COURT.
Brighton.- Edward J. Drummond. Charlestown.- James D. Coady, Mrs. Ellena M. Foley, William E. Carney. Dorchester.- Reginald H. Mair. East Boston.-Dennis J. Kelleher, Frederick L. O'Brien. Roxbury.Joseph H. Keen, Ulysses G. Varney, Edward A. Fallon (for children), Matthew M. Leary, John L. Letzing, Thomas Grieve, Mrs. Celia S. Lappen, Mrs. Marian A. Boyd. South Boston.— Clayton H. Parmelee, Ellen McGurty, James F. Gleason. West Roxbury.- Frank B. Skelton, Thomas H. Staples (for children).
James F. Wise, John J. Barter, Joseph A. McManus, Arthur R. Towle, William A. Maloney, Edward A. Griffin, James E. Donovan, Harry Keenan, Alice M. Power, Ellen L. Cunniff, Mary A. Robinson, Marion S. Flanders, Mary F. McManus.
PENAL INSTITUTIONS DEPARTMENT.
Office, 805 City Hall Annex.
(Ord. 1924, Chap. 9.)
PHILIP A. CHAPMAN, Commissioner. By Chap. 9, Ordinances of 1924, the control and management of the House of Correction and Deer Island was transferred from the Institutions Commissioner to a new official, viz., the Penal Institutions Commissioner. This executive and administrative head of the newly established Penal Institutions Department was empowered to organize it according as deemed necessary for its proper conduct.
CHIEF PENAL OFFICER.
JAMES L. MALLOY, Master of House of Correction, Deer Island. This institution dates from 1902 and now includes a group of buildings valued at $1,467,600. The persons confined there in 1924 numbered 3,613, all men (except a few boys) who were kept busy at farming or in making shoes, clothing, etc. Number discharged in year, 2,917; maximum daily population, 662, in month of November.
MEDICAL EXAMINERS FOR SUFFOLK COUNTY. (Gen. Laws, Chap. 38; Stat. 1908, Chap. 424; Stat. 1909, Chap. 273; Stat.
1911, Chaps. 252, Stat. 1912, Chaps. 466, 631; Gen. Stat. 1916,
Chap. 114; Gen. Stat. 1919, Chap. 216; Stat. 1920, Chap. 188.) The County is divided into two medical districts, Northern and Southern, by a line beginning at the junction of the Brookline line with Huntington avenue; thence through Huntington avenue and Fencourt; thence through middle of Fens, through Boylston, Berkeley and Providence streets, Park square, Boylston and Essex streets, Atlantic avenue and Summer street to Fort Point Channel; thence through said channel, Dover street, Dorchester avenue, Dorchester street, East Fourth and G streets to the harbor. Medical Examiners.- Northern District, George B. Magrath, M. D., 274
Boylston street. Term ends in 1929. Southern District, Timothy Leary, M. D., 44 Burroughs street, Jamaica Plain. Term ends in 1931.
Associate Medical Examiners.— William H. Watters, M. D., 109 Mt.
Vernon street, for Southern District. Term ends in 1931. William
trict. Term ends in 1927.
Location of Northern District Mortuary, 18 North Grove street; Southern District, on City Hospital grounds.
FRANKLIN FOUNDATION. (Stat. 1905, Chap. 488; Stat. 1908, Chap. 569; C. C., Chap. 48, $ 5.]
MEMBERS OF THE CORPORATION AND MANAGERS OF THE
NATHAN MATTHEWS, President.
ROURKE, JAMES J. STORROW, CHARLES R. Gow, EVERETT MORSS,
WALTER B. RUSSELL, Director. The Franklin Foundation is incorporated under Chapter 569 of the Acts of 1908, a board of twelve citizens being named therein as Managers of the Franklin Fund and having the standing of a City department with the object of maintaining the Franklin Union as an independent industrial school for adults.
The Franklin Fund is the proceeds of a bequest of one thousand pounds to “the Inhabitants of the Town of Boston in Massachusetts" made by Benjamin Franklin, in a codicil to his will dated June 23, 1789. The codicil provided that the fund "if accepted by the inhabitants of the Town of Boston” be managed "under the direction of the Selectmen, united with the Minister of the oldest Episcopalian, Congregational, and Presbyterian Churches in that Town," who were to make loans on certain conditions to "young married artificers under the age of twenty-five years."
Dr. Franklin, who died April 17, 1790, calculated that, in one hundred years, the thousand pounds would grow to £131,000, "of which," he says, “I would have the managers then lay out at their discretion £100,000
* The Managers serve without compensation.
in Public Works which may be judged of most general utility to the Inhabitants. The remaining £31,000, I would have continued to be let out on interest for another hundred years. At the end of this second term, if no unfortunate accident has prevented the operation, the sum will be £4,061,000, of which I leave £1,061,000 to the Town of Boston, and £3,000,000 to the disposition of the Government of the State, not presuming to carry my views farther.” The Town accepted the donation at a Town Meeting held June 1, 1790.
A futile suit brought by the Franklin heirs in 1891 prevented the division of the fund at the expiration of one hundred years; but on January 17, 1894, by direction of the three ministers and the Board of Aldermen of the City, which board claimed to be the successors of the “Selectmen,” $329,300.48 (1ff of the fund) was paid to the City Treasurer, for "the purchase of land and the erection thereon of the Franklin Trades School and for the equipment of the same.” Owing to a series of complication the money remained in the custody of the Treasurer. Mayor Collins, in 1902, caused a petition of the City to be filed in the Supreme Court, praying for instructions as to the authority of the persons then acting as Managers of the fund. The Court rendered an opinion November 25, 1903 (184 Mass. 373, page 43), to the effect that the three ministers were Managers of the fund under Franklin's will, but that the Aldermen did not succeed the “Selectmen” as Managers and had no powers with reference to it. The Court, under its general power to care for public charitable funds, appointed, on March 16, 1904, a Board of Managers to take the place of the “Selectmen,” and provided in the decree of the Court, that the Mayor of Boston should be one, ex officio.
On December 2, 1905, the City Treasurer received from Mr. Andrew Carnegie $408,396.48, said sum being equal to the amount of the Franklin Fund in August, 1904, which Mr. Carnegie agreed to duplicate. Only the annual income from this fund is used.
On January 31, 1907, the amount of the “accumulated” fund available for expenditure by the Managers was $438,741.89, and in that year the Franklin Union Building was erected at the corner of Appleton and Berkeley streets. It was opened for the use of the Franklin Trades School, or Franklin Union as it is now called, in September, 1908. This is maintained partly by tuition fees, rents, etc., $118,353 total in year 1924, including the income from the above mentioned Franklin Fund (i. e., the Andrew Carnegie Donation), which fund amounted to $462,396 on January 31, 1925. The building contains 24 classrooms and 6 draughting rooms, where 1,833 adult students received instruction at evening sessions during the year 1924, the fees ranging from $4 to $15. There is also a technical and scientific library, and a large hall with a seating capacity of 1,000. The building with equipment cost $402,718. The site, containing about 16,000 square feet, was purchased in 1906 for $100,000, a 20-year loan being issued to cover same.
The Franklin Accumulating Fund, which will become available in 1991, amounted on January 31, 1925, to $373,232.
Office, 1 Beacon Street, Eighth Floor. [Stat. 1906, Chaps. 291, 395; Stat. 1907, Chap. 214; Stat. 1909, Chaps.
387, 423; C. C. Chap. 55; Stat. 1910, Chaps. 383 and 476; Stat. 1911,
David T. MONTAGUE. Term ends in 1926. The Licensing Board for the City of Boston, established in 1906, consists of three members, appointed by the Governor, with the advice and consent of the Council. The members must be citizens of Boston who have resided in the City for at least two years preceding the date of their appointment. The two principal political parties must be represented and the term of the members is fixed at six years; after the first appointments, one member retiring every two years. The Board was created to exercise all the powers and perform all the duties conferred upon the Board of Police of the City of Boston relative to intoxicating liquors, also as to innholders and common victuallers. In 1909 they took charge of licensing the sale of ice cream, fruit, soda water and confectionery on Sunday.
Licenses for the selling, renting or leasing of firearms are now issued by this board instead of by the City Clerk. The annual fee established for such licenses is $5.00. It also has charge of the licensing of picnic groves, skating rinks, intelligence offices, billiard tables and bowling alleys, formerly attended to by the Police Dept.
TERM May 1, 1925, to May 1, 1926. Appointed annually by Mayor, subject to confirmation by the City Council, for one year beginning with the first day of May, and paid by fees fixed by law.
(ALPHABETICAL Lists.) CONSTABLES. — (General Laws, Chap. 262, Sec. 8.) The following give
bond in $3,000 and are therefore authorized to serve civil process: Charles E. Ahern, Chester A. Bailey, Carleton N. Baker, David Belson, Joseph W. Bennett, Carl B. Berg, Morris Berkman, George W. Bloomberg, George A. Borofski, John H. Brady, Thomas A. Brannelly, Thomas F. Brett, Charles B. Broad, George W. Brooker, Warren A. Brown.