Page images


As it appeared prior to 1827.

The City Seal was adopted by “An Ordinance to Establish the City Seal,” passed January 2, 1823, which provides “That the design hereto annexed, as sketched by John R. Penniman, giving a view of the City, be the device of the City Seal; that the motto be as follows, to wit: ‘Sicut patribus sit Deus nobis'; and that the inscription be as follows:— • Bostonia condita, A.D. 1630. Civitatis regimine donata, A.D. 1822.’” The motto is taken from 1 King's, viii., 57. The seal as it then appeared is shown above. The seal as it was afterwards changed, and has ever since continued to be used, first appeared on page 221 of the volume of laws and ordinances, commonly known as the “First Revision,” published in 1827, and is continued as the City Seal at the present time by Revised Ordinances of 1898, Chapter 1, Section 5, which provides that “The seal of the City shall be circular in form; shall bear a view of the City; the motto “SICUT PATRIBUS SIT DEUs NoHIs,’ and the inscription, “BOSTONIA CONDITA, A.D. 1630. CIVITATIS REGIMINE DONATA, A.D. 1822,” as herewith set forth.” The seal as changed in 1827, and as it has ever since appeared, is shown opposite the title page.


Elected Chairman of the Board of Aldermen, on resignation of Charles M. Draper, Sept. 10, 1906.

[merged small][ocr errors][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][ocr errors][merged small][ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][merged small][ocr errors][ocr errors][merged small][graphic][graphic][graphic][graphic][graphic][graphic][graphic]
« PreviousContinue »