« PreviousContinue »
WILLIAM P. Fowl.ER, THOMAS SPROULEs,
Terms end in 1903.
J. HoMER PIERCE, FREDERICK W. STUART, M.D., JAMES H. CONLEY, MARTHA. W. FOLSOM.
Terms end in 1903.
FREDERIC H. NAzRo, WILLIAM H. SPoon ER,
The Overseers of the Poor in the Town of Boston, a corporation established in 1772, by act of the Legislature, in 1864, were succeeded by the corporation called the “Overseers of the Poor in the City of Boston,” consisting of twelve residents of Boston, four of whom are appointed annually within sixty days from the first Monday in February, to serve for the term of three years from the first day of May. The Board has issued annual reports since 1865.
The Overseers of the Poor are also incorporated as a Board of Trustees of John Boylston's and other charitable funds, left for the assistance of persons of good character and advanced age, “who have been reduced by misfortune to indigence and want.”
A Lodge for Wayfarers who apply at station-houses for accommodations has been established in Hawkins street, where work of some kind is exacted as the equivalent for food and shelter.
BOARD OF PARK COMMISSIONERS.
CHARLES E. STRATTON, Chairman.
JAMES M. PRENDERGAST. Term ends in 1904.
Power to establish parks in this City was granted by the Commonwealth on May 6, 1875, subject to acceptance by the people. This act
was accepted by a vote of the citizens on June 9, 1875. Yeas, 3,706; nays, 2,311. The first Board of Park Commissioners was appointed on July 8, 1875, and confirmed on July 15, 1875.
The total expenditure for park purposes to January 31, 1901, was $16,998,635.94, expended as follows: For land, $7,498,257.28; for construction, $9,487,022.56; for betterment expenses, $13,356.10.
The Arnold Arboretum, containing originally 122.6 acres, belonged to Harvard University. This, together with other land, was taken in 1881 for a public park. The Arnold Arboretum was enlarged in 1895 by the addition of about 68 acres of the Bussey land on Peters' Hill, belonging to Harvard College, and the name Bussey Park was added to the title. All the land in these tracts not needed for driveways and walks, a quarry reservation and traffic road, was leased to Harvard College, to be used only for the purposes of an arboretum under the trusts created by the wills of Benjamin Bussey and James Arnold. The Arboretum is open to visitors daily from 7 A.M. until sunset. The Park Commissioners have charge of the following-named bridges, statues and fountains, which are in the public parks: g
AGASSIZ, carrying Agassiz road over the Fens water.
AUDUBON, over Newton circuit of Boston and Albany Railroad. 1 BELLEvur, over Muddy river from Bellevue street. BRIDLE PATH, carrying the ride over Muddy river, near Audubon road. 1 BROOKLINE AvHNUE, over Muddy river. CHAPEL ARCH, carrying walk over ride, near Bernier street. 1 CHAPEL BRIDGE, over Muddy river. * LoNGwooD BRIDGE, over Muddy river. 1 TREMONT STREET, over Muddy river.
Foot-BRIDGES, at Leverett pond and over outlets of Willow pond and
ELLICOTT ARCH, carrying Circuit drive over walk to Ellicottdale.
1 The Department constructed and maintains the parts of these bridges within the City limits.
WOOD ISLAND PAREC.
NEPTUNE, carrying Neptune road over Boston, Revere Beach and Lynn Railroad.
Foot—BRIDGE from Prescott street over Boston, Revere Beach and Lynn Railroad.
Alexander Hamilton. General John Glover.
BACK BAY FENS.
OLMSTED PAR. E.
PAUPER INSTITUTIONS DEPARTMENT.
PAUPER INSTITUTIONS TRUSTEES.
MRS. R. C. LINCOLN, Chairman.
W. PRENTISS PARKER. Term ends in 1906.
The trustees have charge and control of the Boston Almshouse and Hospital on Long Island and the Boston Almshouse for Women and Aged Couples at Charlestown, and the superintendents of these institutions act as their agents in purchasing all fuel and other supplies.
PENAL INSTITUTIONS DEPARTMENT.
[Stat. 1889, Chap. 245; Stat. 1895. Chap. 449, §§ 14–16; Stat. 1897, Chap. 395, § 5; Rev. Ord., 1898, Chap. 30.]
ALPHEUS SANFORD, Penal Institutions Commissioner. Term ends in
1904. Salary, $5,000. CHARLEs F. R. Foss, Assistant Commissioner. HUBERT Pope, Secretary.
From 1857 to 1885 the public institutions were in charge of a Board of Directors, twelve in number; from 1885 to 1889, in charge of a Board, consisting of nine members; from 1889 to 1895, in charge of the Board of Commissioners of Public Institutions, three in number. By Chap. 449 of the Acts of 1895, the institutions were placed under the charge of one Commissioner, known as the Institutions Commissioner. By Chaps. 395 and 451 of the Acts of 1897, the control of the institutions was divided, and they were placed under the Children's Institutions Department, the Pauper Institutions Department, the Insane Hospital Department and the Penal Institutions Department.
The Penal Institutions Commissioner has the charge and control of Deer Island, the House of Correction at South Boston and the House of Correction at Deer Island. He purchases all supplies required for the institutions in his charge; and also has charge of the steamer “J. Putnam Bradlee,” which is used to transport passengers and freight to Deer, Long and Rainsford Islands.
PRINTING DiPARTMENT. Office, 152 Purchase Street. [Rev. Ord., 1898, Chap. 31.] MICHAEL T. MonAHAN, Superintendent of Printing. Appointed annually. Salary, $3,000. so
The Superintendent of Printing has charge of all the printing for the Departments of the City, and supplies all stationery, postage and binding.
PUBLIC BUILDINGS DEPARTMENT. Office, Old Court House, fourth floor. [Stat. 1895, Chap. 449, § 22; Rev. Ord., 1898, Chap. 32.] MILTON C. PAIGE, Superintendent of Public Buildings. Appointed annually. Salary, $3,600.
The office of the Superintendent of Public Buildings was established by ordinance on July 1, 1850, and annual reports have been published by the Superintendent since 1851.